Corey Taylor of Slipknot Releasing Book

By: Maura O'Malley

February 21, 2017

Slipknot’s Corey Taylor has a new book on the way, America 51: A Probe Into The Realities That Are Hiding Inside The Greatest Country In The World.

The book, due out July 11 through Da Capo Press, is “basically about how wonderfully f*cked and irresponsibly abnormal my country is,” according to what Taylor told The Guardian. Last February, Taylor also told The Guardian, “It’s going to deal with everything from politics to social commentary – it’s going to piss off a lot of people in my country, but everyone else will love it.”

Da Capo’s official description of the book reads:

“The always-outspoken hard rock vocalist Corey Taylor begins America 51 with a reflection on what his itinerant youth and frequent worldwide travels with his multiplatinum bands Slipknot and Stone Sour have taught him about what it means to be an American in an increasingly unstable world. He examines the way America sees itself, specifically with regard to the propaganda surrounding America's origins (like a heavy-metal Howard Zinn), while also celebrating the quirks and behavior that make a true-blue American.

Balancing humor, outrage, and disbelief, Taylor examines the rotting core of America, evaluating everything from politics and race relations to family and "man buns." By continuing the wave of moral outrage begun in You're Making Me Hate You, Taylor skewers contemporary America in his own signature style.”

You can get a sneak peak of the book’s cover art below.